Question about being denied upgrade...

Share your experiences about your latest flights: details and pictures are highly appreciated by our community. How do you rate airlines, in-flight meals, frequent flyer programs, etc... join this forum now!
Erna

Question about being denied upgrade...

Post by Erna »

Hello,

Just before leaving for Bangkok (december 30, 2004) I put in a request for an upgrade to business because I wanted to work on my PC on the plane (I am a journalist) and Finnair only has powerpoints in business.
I was granted this favor already in July and it proved to be very useful (thanks again Finnair!).

When I arrived in Zaventem I was told there was a remark in my file saying "suitable for upgrade"; but because I only needed this upgrade from Helsinki on I was told to ask for it again in Helsinki.

To my surprise (and deception, I have to admit) I was denied this upgrade: the supervisor told me that even with this remark in my file they had absolutely no obligation to grant me an upgrade and they had no intention whatsoever to upgrade me...

Is this normal (there were seats available in business) or was she having a real bad day of which I was the innocent victim? :evil:
(on a sidenote: she said that if they would give an upgrade they prefer to give it to someone with a nice coat and costume and not to a shabby dressed person.... can you imagine she said that?????????????? I was wearing black classical pants, a red classical twinset and cream coloured shoes: is this considered shabby in the aviation world?).

Please enlighten me on this matter.... :)

Thanks,

Erna (still enjoying her holiday in Bangkok!)

Stoney

Re: Question about being denied upgrade...

Post by Stoney »